Skip to content

Can we all leave Nadya Suleman alone now?

This post has been moved to our new site, you can view it here: http://www.blossomclinic.net/2009/04/27/nadya-suleman-octomom-embryo-ethics-embryo-transfer-ivf/.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. blossomclinic #

    Just got these stats from a friend who is a NICU Nurse: “Babies born too small can require increased hospital and provider resource, including time in a neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) at a cost ranging from $1,000 to $2,500 per day. A severely ill newborn may spend several weeks or months in a NICU depending on the complexity of the health problem.

    The median treatment cost of delivery for very low birthweight infants (<1500 grams) is almost $50,000, ranging from $32,000 for infants weighing 1251-1500 grams to almost $90,000 for infants 501-750 grams. This is more than $1,000 per day, with a median length of stay of 49 days.”

    April 27, 2009
  2. Jennifer Scotto-Robinson #

    As per the advice of my Reproductive Endocrinologist, I had 3 frozen embryos “put back in” after my first failed IVF with 2 fresh embryos. My hubby and I knew the risks, are not fans of selective reduction (for ourselves), and were told that we would be lucky “if one took.” Well, all 3 took and I felt blessed…In fact, after delivering 3 beautiful babies after 23 weeks, 6 days, almost losing my life in the process, losing a child, visiting the NICU daily, dealing with doctors, nurses, and whoever, and dealing with every minute, hour, day, month, etc. being a rollercoaster, I still feel blessed. I will forever feel that way no matter what. I am not worried about the money, the ethics (and trust me, I have had people say “You should have reduced!” and I wanted to scream), or how long they will be in the NICU. I love them, and nothing can compare to that. Thanks for sharing Liz. Feel free to share my story!
    🙂

    April 27, 2009
  3. blossomclinic #

    Here is a comment from a friend on facebook: “That is one girl who is NOT in need of any acupuncture fertility treatments…damn! I actually wish she would just get her tubes tied, so that there may still be some natural resources left on the planet for other people. I would’ve been more impressed if she adopted children from a war-torn country…but it turns out, either way, the children would’ve been on welfare, so the take-home message would be: don’t have kids, unless you can afford them. With all of the talk about “lessening our carbon footprint on the planet,” I don’t know how her actions can be justified whatsoever…
    When I read about her story, I wanted to put her on a plane to India to walk her through some of the orphanages I’ve been to & done relief work in. Its quite clear to me that she’s never been to an orphanage in a third-world country…I think it should be mandatory for everyone to see what its like, and how the children live there.” Valid Point I think!

    April 27, 2009
  4. Jennifer Scotto-Robinson #

    Valid point, yes, but we shouldn’t judge. Just my opinion.

    April 29, 2009
  5. Rebecca #

    I agree we shouldn’t judge. You are making it sound like only weathly people should be allowed to have children. Adoption is more expensive than IVF and still doesn’t guarantee results. The focus should be on educating and providing birth control alternatives to those in India and other countries not suggesting it as a solution to American women who are infertile or want to raise children as a single parent.

    May 1, 2009
    • blossomclinic #

      Thanks for your reply Rebecca. I think I should do a piece about single moms choosing adoption or IVF to grow their families.

      May 1, 2009

Leave a comment